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Car Accident/Crime Victim 

Telemarketing PROHIBITED  

Effective October 17, 2019 

Ohio’s recent budget bill, Am. Sub. HB 166, (see pages 
340-341) included language that prohibits 
chiropractors from directly contacting any party, or 
paying or giving, or offering to pay or give, money or 
anything of value to another party, to contact in 
person, by telephone, or by electronic means, any 
party or witness to a motor vehicle accident or any 
victim or witness of a crime until 30 days after the date 
of the incident. Any communication must be sent via 
the U.S. Postal Service. 
 

Regulation and enforcement of these requirements 
are under the purview of the Ohio Attorney General’s 
Consumer Protection Section, not the Board.  
 

To accommodate this new law, the Board must make 
changes to the Advertising and Solicitation rule. You 
will receive an email regarding your opportunity to 
comment on the proposed changes the Board must 
make. 
 

HEMP/CBD OIL 
A recent update to Ohio law (SB 57) changed the 
definition of marijuana. Hemp, hemp products, and 
hemp-derived CBD (cannabidiol) with a THC content of 
no more than three-tenths of a percent are no longer 
prohibited and can now be sold outside of a licensed 
medical marijuana dispensary. 
 

The Board does not regulate or 
interpret the laws pertaining to medical 

marijuana, hemp, CBD, etc.  

 

Hemp is defined as: 
“The plant Cannabis sativa L. and any part of that plant, 
including the seeds thereof and all derivatives, extracts, 
cannabinoids, isomers, acids, salts, salts of isomers, whether 
growing or not, with a delta-9 tetrahydrocannabinol 
concentration of not more than 0.3% on a dry weight basis.” 

 

If you have questions about Hemp, Hemp 
Products, CBD, etc., please contact the 

 Ohio Medical Marijuana Control Program 

 
 

 CE AUDITS 
The Board will soon conduct CE audits for the CE you 
earned to renew your license last year. If you are 
selected for audit, you will receive an email from the 
eLicense system. You will have 30 days to upload 
proof of earning the CE you earned to your eLicense 
profile. 

 
Unclaimed Funds Reporting 

If your business is located and/or operated in the State 
of Ohio, or you hold funds due to Ohio residents, you are 
required to file an Annual Report of Unclaimed Funds.  
 

If you have funds such as balances payable, unclaimed 
wages, etc. and there is no activity in an account for a 
period of time and you cannot reach the account owner, 
the funds must be reported to the Ohio Department of 
Commerce, Division of Unclaimed Funds. 
 
 

Toll Free (877) 644-6823 
Phone (614) 466-4433 
E-Mail UnfdClaims.UnfdClaims@com.state.oh.us  
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https://www.legislature.ohio.gov/legislation/legislation-documents?id=GA133-HB-166
https://www.ohioattorneygeneral.gov/Individuals-and-Families/Consumers
http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4734-9-02v1
https://www.legislature.ohio.gov/legislation/legislation-documents?id=GA133-SB-57
https://www.medicalmarijuana.ohio.gov/
https://www.medicalmarijuana.ohio.gov/
https://elicenseohio.force.com/oh_communitieslogin
https://elicenseohio.force.com/oh_communitieslogin
https://www.com.ohio.gov/unfd/default.aspx
mailto:UnfdClaims.UnfdClaims@com.state.oh.us
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Looking for a List of Board-
Approved CE? 
 

PACE approved programs meet the Board’s 
CE requirements!* 
 

Visit the PACE website to search nearly 2,000 
programs by date, topic, region, instructor or 
format. No need to worry about keeping CE 
certificates – PACE will maintain a transcript of 
your hours for you! 
 

Keep in mind that billing and coding ARE acceptable 
CE topics, so long as the programs are not teaching 
upcoding or enhanced billing techniques. 
 

*Risk management is not an approved CE topic. 
 

 
 
 

 

KEEP YOUR CONTACT 
INFORMATION UP TO  

     DATE 
Please keep your contact information current 
(email, home and business addresses(es), telephone 
numbers, etc.)  It is a violation of the Board’s laws 
and rules if you do not notify the Board of any 
change in contact information within 30 days of the 
change. 
 
To view/update your contact information, log into 
your eLicense.ohio.gov profile using your email 
address and password and click Change Address on 
the Options Button.  
 

Rules Changes 
You are no longer required to provide emergency 
treatment for 30 days to patients you dismiss if the 
patient, or patient’s representative, has displayed 
disruptive or threatening behavior toward you, your 
staff, or your patients. See Board Rule 4734-8-01. 
 

*If you leave, sell, or retire from practice, you are 
now only required to notify patients who received 
care within the past 6 months of your last date of 
practice. See Board Rule 4734-8-07. 
. 

*If you are the employee of another Ohio licensed chiropractor 
and patient records belong to your employer, you are not 
required to notify your patients. It is your employer’s 
responsibility to maintain continuity of care, or to comply with 
the notification requirements, if patient care will be 
terminated upon your leaving, selling or retiring from practice.  
 

 

Professional Boundaries 
NCMIC publishes an online resource titled “Professional 
Boundaries.”  
 

EVERY LICENSEE AND THEIR STAFF SHOULD READ THIS 
DOCUMENT IN ITS ENTIRETY! 

 

The following excerpt is reprinted with the permission of 
NCMIC Group, Inc. No further reproduction is allowed 
without express permission of NCMIC. 
 

Professional Boundaries with Social and 
Electronic Communication  
Many doctors are using social and electronic media 
as a way to communicate with patients and to 
market their practices. But what innocuous 
information might be misconstrued? What snap 
judgments could be made about your practice 
and/or personal life? Many doctors don’t think 
about how the information they share might be 
perceived later by a chiropractic board of examiners 
or a judge or jury in a malpractice case.  

Don’t Forget to Earn CE for 2020 Renewal! 

The current CE earning period is April 1, 2018 to March 31, 2020. 
 

Treating Staff Members? 
If you treat your staff, please keep in mind the laws and 
rules that apply to treating patients apply to your staff 
members too! Maintain good documentation and 
make sure you treat your staff according to the same 
standard of care as your patients. 

http://pacex.fclb.org/
http://pacex.fclb.org/
http://pacex.fclb.org/
https://elicense.ohio.gov/oh_communitieslogin
https://elicense.ohio.gov/oh_communitieslogin
http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4734-8-01v1
http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4734-8-07v1
https://www.ncmic.com/webres/File/10942-Professional-Boundaries.pdf
https://www.ncmic.com/webres/File/10942-Professional-Boundaries.pdf
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Social media  
In this digital age, social media usage is extremely 
common. A 2015 study concluded that 65 percent of 
the total population uses social media and that 90% 
of young adults (ages 18-29) use social media. In 
fact, a 2017 survey determined that 81 percent of 
the U.S. population utilized some form of social 
media. As such, many chiropractors consider 
utilizing social media as a marketing tool for their 
business. Similarly patients are often curious about 
their doctor and may use social media to attempt to 
learn more information about their doctor. If you 
are going to utilize social media, you should have 
two separate pages—one personal and one 
professional. It is important to maintain adequate 
privacy settings for your personal pages and 
frequently revisit the privacy policies of the platform 
as they may change over time.  
 

If you are going to participate in social media, create 
and maintain a separate page for your practice. If 
you choose to have personal social media profiles 
you need to set adequate privacy settings to 
preclude patients from gaining access to personal 
information, which could lead to boundary 
violations. If you receive a friend request from a 
current patient, it may be a good idea to develop a 
standard response in this area. For example, tell 
patients that you make it your policy not to friend 
current or former patients on social networking 
sites out of respect for the doctor/patient 
relationship and to safeguard patient 
confidentiality. Some doctors also develop a social 
media policy that addresses the professional use of 
all types of social media by the doctor and practice 
staff. This policy could be incorporated into the 
practice’s new patient information packet so 
patients are aware of the policy upfront and are not 
offended by not being “friended” on social media.  
 
The American College of Physicians and the 
Federation of State Medical Boards publish ethical 
guidelines regarding online medical professionalism 
and maintaining appropriate relationships and 
perceptions with patients and the public. The 
guidelines emphasize that standards for  

 
professional interactions should be consistent 
across all forms of communication between doctors 
and patients, whether in person or online. There is 
greater danger for misconception in online patient 
interactions because of the ambiguity with written 
communication and lack of body language. 
Additionally, people, including doctors, tend to be 
far more casual behind a computer screen than they 
might be in a face-to face interaction.  
 
Society expects a certain level of professionalism 
from doctors. In the context of civil litigation, jurors 
often have strong reactions when they learn that a 
doctor interacted with a patient in a casual manner. 
Jurors, especially older jurors, will question the 
appropriateness of a doctor having social 
interactions with patients, which may in turn cause 
them to be skeptical about the care that doctor 
provided. Furthermore, while patients may have 
participated and engaged in the informal “banter” 
during the doctor/patient relationship, they will 
often change their story in the context of a lawsuit 
and try to say that it made them uncomfortable, but 
they went along with it because that is the way the 
doctor wanted to communicate with them.  
 

Electronic media (texting)  
According to The Pew Research Center, 73 percent 
of Americans text regularly. In fact, many people 
prefer the convenience of text messaging to having  
an actual conversation. The question is whether it is 
ever appropriate for a doctor to exchange text 
messages with patients. The answer is that it is 
depends on the circumstances and the nature of the 
communication. While patients and doctors alike 
may appreciate the convenience of texting 
regarding simple tasks like scheduling, the more 
frequent the communication the more likely it is 
that a boundary will be crossed. While the 
conversation may begin being strictly related to 
scheduling, it can easily evolve into something else 
entirely. A casual “thank you” or “hope you are 
having a good day” can quickly cross the line into a 
more personal and perhaps inappropriate 
interaction. 
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Even if the patient is the one to initiate the informal 
banter, the doctor, as the professional, must be the 
one to establish the communication boundaries.  
 

Absent unusual circumstances, a doctor should not 
provide treatment recommendations or possible 
diagnoses to patients via text messaging. Patients 
should instead be encouraged to make an 
appointment or to present to the emergency 
department if it is an urgent situation.  
 
You must also consider how the text messages 
might be used in the future should the patient 
experience a bad outcome and file a board 
complaint or a lawsuit. In the moment and in 
context, a text message that might not be 
interpreted as offensive can be twisted and placed 
in a different light once the patient is an adversary. 
For instance, if you are friendly with a patient who 
experiences what is believed to be an adjustment-
related complication and, in the moment, you joke 
about adjusting them again, it might seem funny. 
Nevertheless, this comment could later put you in a 
bad light with a jury.  
 
In addition to boundary issues, text communication 
with patients can also cause privacy/HIPAA 
violations. Pursuant to HIPAA regulations, doctors 
must follow appropriate security protocols for the 
storage and transfer of patient information. Nearly  
 
everyone has inadvertently sent a text message to 
an unintended recipient, which can be 
embarrassing. However, in the context of the 
provision of healthcare, it can have much more 
serious consequences. If a doctor unintentionally 
communicates patient identifying information to 
someone other than the patient, it could be a 
privacy violation. There are several secure text 
messaging applications available for doctors to use 
for substantive conversations about patient care.  
 
Lastly, text message communication with patients 
can create recordkeeping issues. Patient  

 
 
interactions are supposed to be part of the chart 
and, in some states, they could be deemed to 
include text messages. If you are not uniform in 
which messages you keep and which you delete, it 
could also give rise to an argument that certain 
messages were intentionally deleted. 
 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
 

View the Board’s Sexual 
Misconduct Rule  

here 
 

 

Visit our website at: 

www.chirobd.ohio.gov 

 

Log into your profile at: 

www.elicense.ohio.gov 

 

Contact us at: 

oscb.chirobd@chr.state.oh.us  
 

http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4734-9-06v1
http://www.chirobd.ohio.gov/
http://www.elicense.ohio.gov/
mailto:oscb.chirobd@chr.state.oh.us

